2015 Heinz Fellowship Committee Report

February 26, 2015

The seven members of the Committee, Susan Berenson of ’86, Jay Coleman of ’86, Al Durfee, Rob Hanke, Peter Knudsen, Al Puryear, and Tom Yamin met on February 26 at the Graduate Club for lunch with Josh Feinzig, one of last year’s awardees. Josh described his experience at the President’s Council of Economic Advisers. Rahul Singh, another awardee, spent his summer similarly.

At 1:40 PM we began the interviewing of nine applicants. By 5 PM we had made our very difficult decisions to fund five applicants with a total of $22,150. The awardees names, award amount with a description of the summer fellowships follows:

Amy Chang $4,000 – Amy is majoring in Biomedical Engineering, has worked previously in South Africa and Morocco, and will be spending this summer at the USAID Africa Bureau in Washington, D.C. working on development policy.
Ellie Dupler-McClintock $5,600 – Ellie’s major is Global Affairs and has committed to work at the State Department, Washington, DC in the Office of Global Health Diplomacy. She would like to encourage ambassadors to integrate global health concerns into their diplomatic agendas.
Emmet Hedin $4,800 – Emmet is an American Studies major and has applied for a position as a White House Intern for the Domestic Policy Council and would like to work for the Domestic Policy Council assisting the communications between the President and Congress.
Mason Ji $4,750 – Mason is majoring in Global Affairs and has applied to intern at the White House Office of Public Engagement and Intergovernmental Affairs. Mason has developed a multi-media, multi-platform community dialogue method that he has used at both Bellevue, Washington and at the United Nations.
Theodore Miller $3,000 – Ted is studying history and is planning to spend his summer at the State Department, Consular Section of the Consulate General, Guangzhou, China. Ted is planning a career in the US Foreign Service.

There were twenty-eight applicants for Heinz Fellowships this year. The faculty narrowed the list to thirteen. Our Committee selected five outstanding awardees.

Peter Knudsen